What are nine worlds?

In ancient Norse mythology and cosmology, Yggdrasil is an immense tree that sprang forth in the primordial void of Ginnungagap, unifying the 9 worlds of Asgard, Álfheimr/Ljósálfheimr, Niðavellir/Svartálfaheimr, Midgard (Earth), Jötunheimr/Útgarðr, Vanaheim, Niflheim, Muspelheim & Hel.

Are the 9 realms planets?

The 9 realms are 9 different planets magically connected to one another through the Bifrost. Guardians of the Galaxy takes place in regular old space.

What is the tenth Norse world?

Asgard: Home of the Aesir, later forming the Asgardians with the Vanir. Valhalla: Realm of the honored dead which is distinct from but closely connected to Asgard. Nornheim: Home to the Norns.

What is the order of the nine realms?


  • Asgard – Realm of the Aesir.
  • Alfheim – Realm of the Bright Elves.
  • Jotunheim – Realm of the Giants.
  • Midgard – Realm of the Humans.
  • Muspelheim/Muspell – A fire-giant or the forces of chaos or their realm.
  • Nidavellir – Realm of the Dwarves.
  • Niflheim – Realm of Ice and Mist possibly with lower realm of Niflhel.
You might be interested:  Readers ask: Who Is Hercules In Greek Mythology?

Is Midgard a earth?

Midgard is the realm where humans live, the Earth. It was created when the god Odin and his brothers Vili and Ve slayed the giant Ymir. In Norse mythology, the world was seen as a gigantic tree, called the World Tree or Yggdrasil, around which existed nine realms, each at a different level.

Is Valhalla a realm?

For example, Valhalla is often depicted as a realm where distinguished warriors engage in a continuous battle, and just such a place is described, in important early sources, as being located beneath the ground – and, intriguingly, without the name “ Valhalla ” anywhere in the account.

Can Thor die?

Thor is an immortal God. He can be killed, but he will return. It is also nearly impossible to kill him. He has been pulverized and all his bones crushed, but did not die.

Can you go to all 9 realms in God of War?

All nine realms are referenced in God of War, and though not all of them are accessible, a good portion of them are. Some of the realms become open for exploration as the game’s story progresses whereas others need to be specifically unlocked.

Why did Odin stop at 9 realms?

Odin likely stopped at the nine realms due to the power the number nine has in Norse mythology. Nine draws its importance from the lunar calendar, which has a cycle of 27 days, a multiple of 9. This number appears throughout Norse myths and stories.

What does Heim mean in Norse?

Heim is the German, Norwegian, Icelandic and Faroese equivalent of the English word home. It is a common German and Norwegian suffix in place names such as Mannheim and Trondheim.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: What Does Valkyrie Mean In Old Norse Mythology?

Is Asgard and Valhalla the same?

Asgard, Old Norse Ásgardr, in Norse mythology, the dwelling place of the gods, comparable to the Greek Mount Olympus. Legend divided Asgard into 12 or more realms, including Valhalla, the home of Odin and the abode of heroes slain in earthly battle; Thrudheim, the realm of Thor; and Breidablik, the home of Balder.

What are the 9 realms of Yggdrasil?

Old Norse texts mention the existence of Níu Heimar, translated by scholars as “ Nine Worlds.” These nine worlds encompass Niflheim, Muspelheim, Asgard, Midgard, Jotunheim, Vanaheim, Alfheim, Svartalfheim and Helheim, all held in the branches and roots of the world tree Yggdrasil.

What are the 12 realms of Asgard?

Realms of Ásgarðr

  • Bifröst. The Bifrost is an inter-dimensional bridge resembling a rainbow, located at the ends of Ásgarðr.
  • Bilskírnir. Bilskirnir is the hall of Þórr.
  • Fólkvangr.
  • Hliðskjálf.
  • Valhöll.

What does Loki call Earth?

Midgard: Home of the Humans and Inhumans. Also called Earth.

What are 9 realms Thor?

The Nine Realms are Asgard, Midgard, Jotunheim, Svartalfheim, Vanaheim, Nidavellir, Niflheim, Muspelheim, and Alfheim.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *